Live scoring
Follow us:

« | »

South Africa eyes 2023 prize

Author: Staff Reporter Updated: 14:00 15-11-2017

Anticipation builds up as the host for the 2023 Rugby World Cup will be decided on Wednesday. There will be 39 World Rugby Council members who will vote as South Africa, France and Ireland competes for the spot.

South Africa was selected as the preferred candidate two weeks prior after being assessed on a wide array of criteria. These ranged from stadiums to financial assurances.

This was much to the dismay of France and Ireland, who both questioned the decision that was made.

South Africa deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa said: "In 1995 it was an almost-white team.

"In 2023 it will be a diverse rugby team and prove to the world what Nelson Mandela said, that rugby is a great unifier.

"It will be played out in reality that a country coming from a sad past, we will have achieved Nelson Mandela's dream of a true rainbow nation."

AFP Sports cites the prior Webb-Ellis trophy hosts including the 2019 host nation. They add that “some editions saw hosting shared among several countries but the principal hosts only — where the final was played — are listed. The performance of the hosts is included in tournament)”:

1987 — New Zealand (won)

1991 — Europe (five countries hosted matches but final played at Twickenham — England reached final lost to Australia) 

1995 — South Africa (won)

1999 — Wales (quarter-finals lost to Australia)

2003 — Australia (finalists lost to England)

2007 — France (semi-finals lost to England)

2011 — New Zealand (won)

2015 — England (went out in pool stage)

2019 — Japan

Published: 11:45 14-11-2017

Posted by on November 14, 2017.

Categories: Rugby, Sport

« | »


Change your weather location

Powered by The Weather Channel


$ = R0
£ = R0
= R0
Oil = $0
Gold = $0
Updated: 17:35 22-Mar-2018