Live scoring
Follow us:

« | »

Leyds cleans up at WPRFU awards

Updated: 09:15 12-10-2017

Dillyn Leyds was the big winner at the 2017 WPRFU awards evening, claiming three awards at a ceremony held in Cape Town on Tuesday.

The versatile Leyds, who came back from injury this year to star for the Stormers in three different positions before going on to make his Springbok debut, was named the Most Valuable Player, Senior Player of the Year, as well as claiming the Composure and Capability Award.

Lock John Schickerling walked away with the coveted Players' Player of the year award.

The other senior awards saw Stormers captain Siyamthanda Kolisi take the Above and Beyond Award, with Schickerling the WP Best Forward, Jano Vermaak the WP Best Back, Jaco Coetzee the WP Most Promising Senior Forward and Damian Willemse the WP Most Promising Senior Back.

In the table-topping Western Province U19 team, WP U19 Best Forward was lock BJ Dixon and WP U19 Best Back was centre Lyle Hendricks, with wing Christian Ambadiang named the WP U19 Most Promising Player.

The WP U21 Best Forward was captain Ernst van Rhyn and WP U21 Best Back was flyhalf Tiaan Swanepoel, with centre Michaine Fick handed the WP U21 Most Promising Player award.

U19 Player of the Year was captain Salmaan Moerat and the U21 Player of the Year was wing Duncan Saal.

Both Western Province and Western Province U21 will contest semifinals on October 21, with the senior Western Province team requiring a win against Sharks this weekend to secure a home Currie Cup semifinal.

Of course Western Province went through the Rugby Challenge unbeaten to claim the inaugural title earlier in the year, while there was also success for the Western Province Women's team as they claimed the national title and had 12 players named in the SA Select squad to tour England.

The other individual awards saw Felicia Jacobs named WP Women’s Player of the Year, Henco Martins the WP School’s Player of the Year, Marius van der Westhuizen the WP Referee of the Year and Tapiwa Tsomondo of False Bay the Club Rugby Player of the Year.

All The 2017 Individual Award Winners:

WP U19 Best Forward: BJ Dixon
WP U19 Best Back: Lyle Hendricks
WP U19 Most Promising Player: Christian Ambadiang

WP U21 Best Forward: Ernst van Rhyn
WP U21 Best Back: Tiaan Swanepoel
WP U21 Most Promising Player: Michaine Fick

Composure and Capability Award: Dillyn Leyds
Above and Beyond Award: Siya Kolisi
U19 Player of the Year: Salmaan Moerat
U21 Player of the Year: Duncan Saal
Senior Player of the Year: Dillyn Leyds
MVP Award: Dillyn Leyds

WP Best Forward: JD Schickerling
WP Best Back: Jano Vermaak
WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Jaco Coetzee
WP Most Promising Senior Back: Damian Willemse

WP Women’s Player of the Year: Felicia Jacobs
WP School’s Player of the Year: Henco Martins
WP Referee of the Year: Marius van der Westhuizen
Club Rugby Player of the Year: Tapiwa Tsomondo
Players Player of the Year: JD Schickerling

Source: Rugby365 Published: 09:30 11-10-2017

Posted by on October 11, 2017.

Categories: Rugby, Sport

« | »


Change your weather location

Powered by The Weather Channel


$ = R0
£ = R0
= R0
Oil = $0
Gold = $0
Updated: 09:32 22-Jun-2018