Live scoring
Follow us:

« | »

Quinton de Kock bags five awards

Updated: 18:15 14-05-2017

Quinton de Kock was named South African Cricketer of the Year during the Cricket South Africa awards function in Kyalami on Saturday evening.

De Kock walked away with a total of five awards at the glittering ceremony.

The other nine players to have received CSA’s most prestigious award are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and AB de Villiers (2014 and 2015) who have all won the award twice with the other previous winners being Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), Vernon Philander (2012) and Kagiso Rabada (2016).

In addition to the main award, de Kock was named Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year and Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year, was honoured by his peers by being named SA Players’ Player of the Year and by the fans on being named SA Fans Player of the Year.

De Kock did, in fact, receive a sixth award which was for being named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year.

His statistics for the year were remarkable, highlighted by his ODI innings of 178 against Australia in a series that saw him score 300 runs at an average of exactly 60 and a strike rate in excess of 137. His Test match performances were notable for his ability to score big runs when needed and to take the game away from the opposition.

In addition, the quality of his glove work was brilliant.

The only awards he did not win for which he was eligible were the Standard Bank T20 International Player of the Year award that went to Imran Tahir for the second year in a row and the KFC Award of Excellence that went to Temba Bavuma, again for the second successive year, for his brilliant run out of David Warner.

De Kock was not a contender for RAM Delivery of the Year and that again went to Rabada for his delivery that bowled Usman Khawaja at Perth.

Sune Luus was named SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year while Lizelle Lee was named SA Women’s Players Player of the Year.

The International Newcomer of the Year awards went to Keshav Maharaj and Laura Wolvaardt.

See the winners’ list below.



SA Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
Standard Bank T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
SA Players’ Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock

SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock

KFC Award of Excellence: Temba Bavuma
RAM Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
International Newcomer of the Year: Keshav Maharaj
Momentum women’s Cricketer of the Year: Sune Luus
Women’s Players Player of the Year: Lizelle Lee
Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt


Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights)
Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Henry Davids (Multiply Titans)
CSA T20 Challenge Player of the Season: Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans)
Pitchvision Coach of the Year: Mark Boucher (Multiply Titans)
Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Colin Ackermann (Warriors)
Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans)
Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Kruger (Northern Cape)

SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Colin Ackermann (Warriors)


CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Shaun George
CSA Umpire of the Year: Shaun George

EWN logo

On EWN: Quinton de Kock turns in another five-star performance

Published: 06:45 14-05-2017

Posted by on May 14, 2017.

Categories: Cricket, Sport

« | »


Change your weather location

Powered by The Weather Channel


$ = R0
£ = R0
= R0
Oil = $0
Gold = $0
Updated: 02:37 19-Jun-2018